(Est 1885)

Team Of Century


Honour Board


Click on links below for further details
Player Awards


Premiership Sides

Most Games/ Goals

The Richmond football club is one of the sixteen clubs that make up the Australian football league (AFL). Based in Melbourne (Richmond is a inner suburb located less than 2 kilometres east from the city centre), the club is one of the most heavily supported sporting teams in the country with a legion of fans roaring the side onwards to victory each weekend during the `footy' season (March - September). Draped in the club's famous yellow and black colours, tiger supporters are renowned for their passionate (feral) yet good natured behaviour. Richmond's traditional and administration headquarters is Punt Road Oval (affectionately known as `tigerland') and played games there up until 1965. The team stills trains at the ground. `Home' games have since been played at the `home of football' and Australia's if not one of the world's most famous sporting arenas - the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).

Formed on February 20th 1885 at a public meeting at the Royal Hotel, the Richmond football club has a long and prestigious history. The club spent its formative years in the Victorian Football Association (VFA) winning two flags. In 1908, Richmond was invited to join the stronger Victorian Football League (VFL) which began as a breakaway group from the VFA in 1897. The VFL's name was changed to the Australian Football League in 1990 as the current national competition took shape with the addition of teams from all mainland states of Australia. The tigers have won 10 flags from 22 grand final appearances.

Victorian Football Association (VFA):
Premiers (2):
1902, 1905                                     
Grand Finals (5):
Australian Football League (AFL):

Premierships (10):
1920-21, 1932, 1934, 1943, 1967, 1969,
1973-74, 1980
Grand Finals (22):
1919-21, 1924, 1927-29, 1931-34, 1940,
1942-44, 1967, 1969, 1972-74, 1980, 1982
McLellan trophies (8):
1920, 1933-34, 1943-44, 1967, 1974, 1982
Finals Appearances (34):
1916, 1919-1921, 1924, 1927-35, 1937,
1938-44, 1947, 1967, 1969, 1971-75, 1977,
1980, 1982, 1995, 2001
Preseason Cup Competition:

Premiers (1):
Grand Finals (5):
1962-63, 1983, 1993, 2002